Dickerson Middle School



Scott Brown is Assistant Band Director at Dickerson M.S and Percussion Director at Walton H.S., both in Marietta, GA. Scott is Percussion Coordinator for the Music For All Summer Music Symposium Middle School Camp, Co-Director of the North Georgia Percussion Camp and Atlanta Percussion Symposium, and is a member of the Percussive Arts Society International Percussion Ensemble Committee. He served as Percussion Arranger and Consultant for Beatrix Drum & Bugle Corps from Hilversum, The Netherlands, winning the “High Percussion” award for Drum Corps Netherlands and Drum Corps Europe and spent 14 years with the 1998 & 2002 Bands of America Grand National Champion Lassiter High School Band. Scott has presented clinics for The Midwest Clinic, PASIC, MEA conventions in Georgia, Texas, and Ontario, and served as a clinician and/or adjudicator in The Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Thailand, Brazil, Colombia, and Malaysia and is an artist for Mapex/Majestic, Innovative Percussion, and Sabian.

The Dickerson Percussion Ensemble has performed for numerous festivals and conventions including the National Middle School Association, the Georgia Music Educators Association, the National Band Association Southern Division, the National Association for Music Education, the Midwest Clinic, and the Sandy Feldstein National Percussion Festival. Past guest artists and clinicians for the ensemble include: Ralph Hardimon, Nick Angelis, Emil Richards, Lalo Davila, Glen Caruba, John Lawless, Dr. Tony McCutchen, Dr. John Culvahouse, Dr. John Parks, Sonny Emory, Kit Chatham, Michael Spiro, “Boomshaka” from Northwestern University, Fushu Daiko Taiko Ensemble, Dom Famularo, Yasukazu Kano of Kodo, Nick Petrella, She-e Wu, Dr. Andy Bliss, Patrick Sheridan, Dr. Gifford Howarth, Dr. Thad Anderson, Jeff Moore, and Zoro.  Alumni of the Dickerson Percussion Ensemble have continued their percussion studies at Florida State University, University of Michigan, University of Georgia, University of Maryland, Indiana University, University of North Texas, and the Eastman School of Music.



Posted on

August 30, 2019